N.B. 959 132 O.L.

Sec. 171.01. There is hereby created the Ohio retirement study commission of fourteen members as follows:

- (A) Three members of the senate, appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate, not more than two of whom may be members of the same political party:
- (B) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, not more than two of whom may be members of the same political party;
- (C) Three members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall represent the state and its employees for an initial term ending June 30, 1971; one of whom shall represent nonstate governments and their employees for an initial term ending June 30, 1970; one of whom shall represent educational employers and their employees for a term ending June 30, 1969. Thereafter, such appointments shall be made for terms of three years or until their successors are appointed and qualified.
- (D) Five ex-officio members as follows: the executive director of the public employees retirement system, the executive director of the state teachers retirement system, the executive director of the school employees retirement system, the executive secretary of the police and firemen's disability and pension fund, and the secretary of the state highway patrol retirement board, who shall be non-voting members.

A vacancy on the commission shall be filled by the person qualified to make the original appointment for the unexpired term, in the same manner as the original appointment.

The members of the commission who are appointed from the membership of the senate and the house of representatives shall serve during their terms as members of the general assembly and until their successors are appointed and qualified, notwithstanding the adjournment of the general assembly of which they are members or the expiration of their terms as members of such general assembly. (Enacted in Amended Substitute House Bill No. 959)

Effective July 1, 1967