1370 LAm Sub SB 115

Sec. 171.01. There is hereby created the Ohio retirement study commission of fourteen members as follows:

Page lof

(A) Three members of the senate, appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate, not more than two of whom may be members of the same political party;

(B) Three members of the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, not more than two of whom may be members of the same political party;

(C) Three members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, not more than two of whom shall be members of the same political party, one of whom shall represent the state and its employees; one of whom shall represent nonstate governments and their employees; one of whom shall represent educational employers and their employees. Terms of the existing members appointed by the governor shall not be affected. Terms of office of members appointed by the governor shall be for three years, commencing on the first day of July and ending on the thirtieth day of June. Each member appointed by the governor shall hold office from the date of his appointment until the end of the term for which he was appointed. Any member appointed by the governor to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of his term until his successor takes office, or until a perod of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

(D) Five exofficio EX OFFICIO members as follows: the executive director of the public employees retirement system, the executive director of the state teachers retirement system, the executive director of the school employees retirement system, the executive secretary of the police and firemen's disability and pension fund, and the secretary of the state highway patrol retirement board, who shall be non-voting NONVOTING members.

A vacancy on the commission shall be filled by the person qualified to make the original appointment for the unexpired term, in the same manner as the original appointment.

The members of the commission who are appointed from the membership of the senate and the house of representatives shall serve during their terms as members of the general assembly and until their successors are appointed and qualified, notwithstanding the adjournment of the general assembly of which they are members or the expiration of their terms as members of such general assembly.